The Indian Premier League(IPL) is one of the most famous sports leagues in the world. The BCCI organised the IPL T-20 Cricket tournament every year. Cricket players from all over the world participate in this dazzling sports event. There are ten city-based franchise teams in the IPL tournament, each team plays 14 matches.

The batter who scores the most runs in a single season of the IPL is awarded an Orange Cap. The tradition of providing the Orange cap to the highest run scorer of IPL in a season was introduced from the very first season of IPL 2008. This concept of the orange cap award became more popular among cricket fans in comparison to other international or domestic tournament highest run scorer awards.

In the ICC tournament, the Player, who scored the highest run in the tournament, was awarded the Golden Bat at the end of the tournament. However, the winner of the Orange Cap is awarded from the very first match of the tournament. And if the other batter has overtaken the previous winner, the new winner will get awarded with the orange cap. The orange cap tradition is unique in the cricket arena.


  • The highest run-scorer batter in a single season is awarded an Orange Cap.
  • In case of a tie, the Orange cap would be given to the batter who has faced fewer balls.
  • During an innings, an orange cap owner who is fielding will be allowed to wear the cap until the end of the innings, even if an opposition batsman overtakes him.
  • At the end of the innings, the batter who has overtaken the opposition team fielder’s score will be awarded the orange cap.



Winner Team Score


Shubman Gill GT



Jos Buttler  RR



Ruturaj Gaikwad CSK






David Warner SRH



Kane Williamson SRH



David Warner SRH



Virat Kohli RCB



David Warner SRH



Robin Uthappa KKR



Michael Hussey CSK



Chris Gayle RCB



Chris Gayle RCB



Sachin Tendulkar MI



Matthew Hayden CSK


2008 Shaun Marsh KXIP


Shubman Gill (Gujarat Titans) | 2023

The new poster boy of Indian cricket media, Shubman Gill, had an outstanding performance in the IPL 2023 for the Gujarat Titans. Shubman Gill scored 890 runs in 17 innings and won the Orange Cap title.

Jos Buttler (Rajasthan Royals) | 2022

Jos Buttler had a terrific season in the 2022 IPL Tournament. The keeper-batter scored 863 runs in 17 innings while playing for the Rajasthan Royals, including 4 hundreds.

Ruturaj Gaikwad (Chennai Super Kings) | 2021

A Young Turk who has yet to debut his international cricket career created an indelible impression on the IPL scoreboard. He scored 635 runs in 16 innings and won the Orange Cap award.

KL Rahul (Kings XI Punjab) | 2020

Kings XI Punjab appointed KL Rahul as their new skipper in the 2020 IPL season, He showcased his exceptional cricketing skills by scoring 670 runs in 14 innings and won the Orange Cap title.

David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad) | 2019

The Eruptive Australian opener accumulated 692 runs in 12 matches to win his third Orange Cap and break the record of legendary Chris Gayle who has a record of winning two Orange Cap awards.

Kane Williamson (Sunrisers Hyderabad) | 2018

Kane Williamson, the captain of SRH, scored an impressive 735 runs in 17 innings and became the second SRH player after David Warner to secure the Orange Cap title for himself.

David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad) | 2017

Warner garnered 641 runs in 14 innings to end up as the top scorer for the second time in the IPL tournament. he became the second player after Chris Gayle to win the Orange Cap Award twice.

Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore) | 2016

The batting sensation Virat Kohli had a stellar run in the 2016 IPL. He stunned everyone with his remarkable record-breaking 973 runs in 18 innings. The Highest number of runs scored by a player in an IPL season.

David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad) | 2015

The fierce Australian opener David Warner became the fourth Australian to win the Orange Cap award. He put up 652 runs in 14 innings at the scoreboard.

Robin Uthappa (Kolkata Knight Riders) | 2014

Robin Uthappa became the second Indian player after Sachin Tendulkar to claim ownership of the Orange Cap with his tally of 660 runs in 14 innings led KKR to lift the IPL trophy second time.

Michael Hussey (Chennai Super Kings) | 2013

The Australian Mr Dependable Michael Hussey showcased his exceptional skills and scored 733 runs in 17 innings.  His outstanding performance in IPL 2013 was a testament to his talent.

Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Banglore) | 2012

The 2012 IPL season was the second consecutive season for IPL fans to witness the Gayle Strome. Gayle collected 733 runs in 14 innings and earned his second orange cap award back to back.

Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Banglore) | 2011

The fearsome Christopher Henry Gayle has placed himself in the league’s history with his roaring batting. The Caribbean player stockpiled 608 runs in 12 innings for RCB to have on the Orange Cap.

Sachin Tendulkar (Mumbai Indians) | 2010

The IPL season 2010 was the season of God of cricket.  The Master Blaster created history by scoring a record 618 runs in 15 innings, the highest score by any player in an IPL season to date.

Matthew Hayden (Chennai Super Kings) | 2009

The experienced Aussie opener Matthew Hayden garnered 572 runs for CSK in 12 innings and bagged the orange cap award. he became the second Aussie player to win the Orange Cap Award after Shaun Marsh.

Shaun Marsh (Kings XI Punjab) | 2008

Shaun Marsh, an unknown face for a cricket lover scored an incredible 616 runs in just 11 innings. With his impressive performance, he made history as the first player to win the coveted Orange Cap.


All the winners of the Orange Cap Award were famous and established international cricket players except Shaun Marsh and Ruturaj Gaikwad. Shaun Marsh and Ruturaj Gaikwad are the players who debuted their international ODI cricket careers after winning the IPL orange cap title. No Player won the Orange Cap Award more than once, except David Warner and Chris Gayle. David Warner is the only player who won the Orange Cap Award thrice, And Chris Gayle won the Orange Cap Award twice. The highest scorer among the Orange Cap winners is Virat Kohli. Virat Kohli performed extremely well in the IPL 2016 season, and scored 973 runs in 18 innings, which is the highest IPL score in a single season to date.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who can win the Orange Cap Award?

The batter who scores the most runs in a single IPL season.

Who is the winner of the 2023 IPL Orange Cap Award?

Shubman Gill won the Orange Cap of IPL 2023 with 890 runs in 17 innings while playing for Gujarat Titans.

Can there be more than one winner of the Orange Cap Award?

To avoid this situation, there is a rule in case of a tie. If the two highest scorers scored the same run, the batter who faced a lesser ball will be declared as winner.

who has the highest number of wins?

David Warner has the most victories. He won the Orange Cap award three times while playing for his team Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Which Team has won the IPL Orange Cap most times?

The team Sunrisers Hyderabad has won the Orange Cap Award four times. David Warner has won three times and Kane Williamson has won one time for Sunrisers Hyderabad.

which orange cap winner has the maximum run in a single season?

The highest scorer among the Orange Cap winners is Virat Kohli. In 2016 IPL, Virat Kohli scored 973 runs in 18 Innings.